1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why did you choose to play bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dinoplasty, Oct 3, 2009.

1. dinoplasty

dinoplasty

Sep 11, 2009
    Hi, i'm kind of new here and just wondering what are reasons why you play bass? :bassist:

2. 30 years ago, in the 8th grade, a dude needed a bass player to complete his band. I was antisocial, so my folks gladly bought me a cheap bass & amp to integrate me into society. If they only knew what *society* that would eventually get me involved w/they might have got me into guns instead. :)
    What's your story?

3. dinoplasty

dinoplasty

Sep 11, 2009

mine's not as cool, lol. i've been learning piano for the past 9 years, and wanted to learn something else. i saw a local fusion band play. the bassist looked cool and made sounds, that at the time, i didn't know a bass could make.

4. Well the cool thing about yours is that it was more your decision- I was just going along w/the *crowd*
    :cool:

5. LCW

LCW Banned

Mar 2, 2009
    OREGON!
    Ok i cant really remember. This November it will have been 6 years, I do remember being 13 and watching south park. They form a band and make the black kid play bass, he says "i dont have a bass", they reply "your black there has to be one in your basement".He then finds it and says "i cant play ", they reply "your black of course you can" and well he can. Really thats what i trace it back to and i was a big Guns N rose fan and Duff mckagan looked "cool" to me thus i got a bass for my 14 birthday , a pawn shop special dean edge. Formed my first band , and wrote my first song with it and actually its my only bass right now i still play it daily.I really want a new bass its pretty beat and its frets are worn i have had many other ones but sold them over the years.