1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Why did you decide to play bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by r6mile, Apr 1, 2006.

1. I liked the sound of a bass and basslines

59 vote(s)
    62.8%
  2. I didn't want to play guitar like everyone else

36 vote(s)
    38.3%
  3. I liked the shape and size of a bass and its strings

10 vote(s)
    10.6%
  4. I liked the bassist of a band

18 vote(s)
    19.1%
  5. Someone forced me

10 vote(s)
    10.6%
  6. Other

23 vote(s)
    24.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Please explain.

2. Matt Call

Matt Call Supporting Member

Aug 1, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    I started playing guitar. I didn't know what a bass was. My deaf brother got a bass. I was intruiged. He quit playing and, before he sold his bass, let me try it out. I was hooked.

3. Billy Gould.

4. i started hanging out with a kid that played guitar and loved it, and his band was falling apart because of the shotty bassist. He had a bass and since i was really interested since i was a kid to start playing, he let me borrow it and taught me how to play some ramones songs and easy punk songs. It was a memphis P bass. I loved that bass but eventually had to give it back.

that was why i started playing.. and just because after picking it up i loved the sound, the feel, and everything about playing bass

i wasnt "forced" to play, i was just asked, and it turned out i didnt want to play guitar.

5. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

Grade 7 Bigband, we had to choose an instrument. I chose bass because my brother had a bass lying around in his room not being used. I eventually sold that peice of crap.

6. AxtoOx

AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    You forgot "Because I'm a failed guitarist":rollno: