1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why do "WE"...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Marc DLarosa, May 23, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marc DLarosa

Marc DLarosa Supporting Member

May 29, 2017
    ...well... WHY DO some of You need to have "better/nicer" basses, than the PLAYERS that didn't NEED to have a "boutique/custom", in order to get "their SOUND" that You're "chasing?"

Not putting anyone, on "the spot." Just curious...

I "HOPE" that this thread ENDS SOON, with... "TO GET THE SOUND THAT IS ALL MY OWN."

IamGroot, jamro217 and Doner Designs like this.
  2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol

There are users of expensive boutique instruments and stock cheap instruments at all levels, from absolute beginner to bass legend.
    I think people play what they want and/or can afford, regardless of achievements and/or what Mr Mc BassStar do.

knight of ni, BOOG, M0ses and 12 others like this.
  3. Volker Kirstein

Volker Kirstein Blippy the Wonder Slug Supporting Member

I don't. I get all the sounds I want out of my collection of used El Cheapos. :roflmao: Someone once thought he heard a Ric at the BluesHaus, only to come forward and stare googley eyed at my short scale Bronco clone (w/fresh rounds).

Ggaa, IamGroot, DJ Bebop and 7 others like this.
  4. Marc DLarosa

May 29, 2017
    This is NOT another CHEAP/VS/EXPENSIVE thread. Just to be CLEAR.

DJ Bebop, ejaggers and gebass6 like this.
  5. Marc, could be some folks think "better/nicer" will gloss over any shortcomings they may have while trying to "cop that tone",maybe it makes it easier.

I'm just throwing that in as a possible reason.

I sound like me no matter what I play. Choice of notes,frequency of ghost notes I use,stock phrases etc.
    All those define me much more than if I'm playing with a bright or dark tone.

DJ Bebop and Marc DLarosa like this.