1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why does my Fishman Pocket Blender sound so good?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by CHYC, Apr 23, 2019.

1. CHYC

CHYC

Dec 28, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, first post and apologies it's so vague but I'm not an expert by any stretch.

My setup is a double bass with a Fishman Full Circle [FC] going into a Fishman Pocket Blender [PB] going into an Acoustic Image Coda [AI]. Even though the Blender is capable of servicing a microphone I am just using it as a preamp for my FC. I am very happy with the sound I get. My worry is that I just cannot seem to replicate it with other gear and I'm scared now that I've learnt that the PB is discontinued.

When I leave the PB out of the chain [FC straight into the AI], the volume seems to be inconsistent coming out of the amp. It starts of really loud, but as the gig progresses (say half an hour) I seem to be turning it up to hear myself until it starts farting. I don't have to do that with the PB. Even that aside, the sound I get is much more even and warm, less scratchy perhaps. It may just be my ears playing tricks on me which is why I apologize in advance for being so vague. Now there's something called impedence matching which I've heard about, but from what I've read the AI should cope with piezo pickups fine.

I have tried a Fishman Platinum Pro EQ Bass (yes I'm a stickler for Fishman stuff) and despite all the extra knobs and notches I just cannot get the sound to be quite so nice as the PB set flat.

I can try to post sound clips but I'm not really in a position to blast out at home so it may be a while before I can get the chance.