1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why learn both bows?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by emilio g, Mar 13, 2010.

1. emilio g

emilio g

Jul 16, 2008
    Jersey City, NJ
    Does playing the "other" bow help your playing overall. How so?

2. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    I did my bachelors degree on German and Masters on French. I'm very clear on which one I like better. It's also handy to be able to competently teach both.

3. chicagodoubler

chicagodoubler

Aug 7, 2007
    Chicago, that toddling town
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland, Genz Benz
  4. + 1 for teaching too. Also, if you think you will be a teacher some day then learn to play piano as second instrument so that you can accompany your students. That is my main regret after many years of teaching bass - I preferred sport to piano lessons when I had the chance!!

Cheers......

DP

5. This sums it up. I studied both bows and use both grips. It can also be nice when you get a one off with a great player, you can just bring the bow they play. I favor the German but when I took lessons with Joëlle Léandre I brought the French bow, for example.

6. you tease!

:bassist:

7. El Chupacabra

El Chupacabra

Apr 7, 2010
    As a very new bassist (less than a year), I don't have a favorite yet. I've been learning easy film scores and such on my own with both bows. I think its good to just have an idea of how to play with either bow. I like the power and projection from the German bow but I like the control I have with the French. And yes I'm gripping them correctly, I checked.

8. bejoyous

bejoyous

Oct 23, 2005
    London, Ontario
    Also, learning both will keep you from being sucked into stupid opinions about the "other kind of bow."