Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Will my Mac work for a home studio?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by 43% burnt, Apr 4, 2005.

1. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    Ok, I know there are a few threads on here for newbie home studio enthusiasts. But I wanted to get some specific thoughts on my machine/setup. I am a total beginner when it comes to this. I want to start building a basic home studio using my computer to record and edit tracks. I am not looking to build a vocal booth, or seperate room for drums, etc...(at this point). I basically want to familiarize myself w/recording guitar riffs, bass lines, some vocals, etc.

I have a mac g4, 400mz, 512mb ram, 250gig firewire hd. I've had this machine for a long time now, and its nothing compared to the new macs on the market. But i'm wondering if I added some ram, could I use what I already have? Or, should I invest in a newer more powerfull machine first?

Also, I bought an imic yesterday to use as an interface. Are these things decent? If not, any recommendations?

What about software? There are so many programs out there, I don't know where to start.

2. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    If you already have it, try it out and see.

The best answer though is "it depends". A good rule of thumb is that as you increase track count, you need to have better drives. As you increase plugin count, you need to have better CPU. You really ought to max the RAM, always.

I've done projects with a track count of over 40 with a handful of plugins on a 500MHz laptop with 80G firewire drive. I was fine. You should be too.

For software, either Digital Performer or Cubase.