Will playing bass "low" hurt your hand if...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Beav, Apr 22, 2004.

1. Beav

Beav Graphics Whore

Jul 17, 2003
    Middle Tennessee
    Designer: Beav's Graphics
    I'm wondering will a bass with wider sting spacing hurt your hand if you play below your belt? I don't play at my man boobies and I don't play at my knees either. I'm wondering if I get a wide spaced 5 string if I will have any problems if I hold my bass at about a 30 degree angle.
  2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    If it hurts then adjust the strap till it is comfortable.

Everyone is different. Case in point; Rob Trujillo is very good and his bass was extremely low when I saw Metallica last year. Ryan Martinie also is a very good player, his bass looks uncomfortably high to me.
  3. what he said
  4. Agree with what has been said.

If your hand hurts at all, stop at once and adjust the strap.

Being able to play without pain and possibly damaging your hand is more important than how you look.

If could take months to get over tendon/muscle damage in your hands and could prevent you from playing bass if it is permanent damage.

5. takeout

takeout Supporting Member

Dec 27, 2002
    Kansas City area
    The string spacing is not your main issue. The main thing to watch is the angle at which either of your wrists bend (if at all). You want to be able to draw as straight a line as possible from your elbow to your knuckles. Adjust your strap accordingly.
  6. Diek

May 25, 2003
    As long as you keep your wrist straight, it doesn't matter where you hang the bass. I find it easiest to play the lower frets if I sling my bass really low and play with the neck upright ala Fieldy. But then I loose access to the upper frets, so I have to find a happy medium.