1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Will this rig function properly?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cagipple, Oct 6, 2013.

1. cagipple

cagipple

Oct 6, 2013
    I'm looking to buy a new rig and here is what I have decided on:

Ampeg SVT-3PRO (450 watts at 4 ohms)
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ampeg-SVT-3PRO-Series-Head-100140363-i1145693.gc

Carvin 2x10 (8 ohms / 400 watts)
    http://www.carvinguitars.com/products/BR210-8C

Carvin 4x10 (8 ohms / 800 watts)
    http://www.carvinguitars.com/products/BR410-8C

I want to make sure this rig will function like a well-oiled machine. I'm not an expert in the subject and there's a few things I'm worried about:

- the two cabs combined wattage is 1200 watts. Will a 450 watt amp be too little power? or too much power?

- two 8 ohm cabs equals 4 ohm impedance so it should work with this amp, correct?

2. This combo will certainly function.

You're not getting everything you could from the cabs, but I guess it's just room for future upgrades.

3. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    It will work, and you can't underpower speakers. you may want to reconsider matching a 2x10 with a 4x10. they will both get the same amount of power, thus pushing each driver in the 2x10 with more than each driver in the 4x10. you won't hurt anything you listed, and it will be loud, but the better option would be two of either cab, not one of each.

my opinion. if the goal is one rig, i'll stick to what i said. if you want two rigs, it isn't too bad of an idea, the amp and 2x10 for smaller stuff, the amp and 4x10 for bigger stuff, but running only one or the other gives you about 250 watts, so consider that.

4. Cirk

Cirk

Jan 16, 2011
    Pittsburgh, PA