1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Wimbish . . .

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by jhan, Apr 30, 2009.

1. jhan

jhan Guest

Just saw Doug Wimbish last night at the Fillmore in NYC. He was playing for Tarja Turunen (formerly of Nightwish). That was about the LOUDEST bass I ever heard in a show. Almost too much, though it sounded great. He was going through two Trace Elliot 410's and two 15's, with two TE heads. Total thunder. I'm sure the heads were the most powerful TE's made.

Not bad for going up against keyboards and a guitarist with only 1 full ENGL stack. Like I said, Wimbish sounded AWESOME. Damn it was a pleasure to watch that guy.

BTW - that's about the third time I've heard ENGL amps live. If I was a guitarist, I know what I'd buy. Those things pack a punch. Crystal clear and loud as hell.

2. DanRJBrasil

DanRJBrasil

Jun 10, 2007
    he's very good , what you heard was the bass in the mix through the p.a. not the sound of his amps, is nice to hear a good bass in the mix, usually you don't hear bass at all, seems that most of the sound men are gui****s that thinks that bass are not suposed to be heard at all.

3. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003
    I been everywhere, man...
    None. At all.
    Doug's a living legend - he's been at it for over 3 decades and was doing a lot of the advanced solo bass techniques years before everybody else was.

Historically he's an important figure, as he was one of the house musicians at Sugar Hill Records - he was a part of some of the biggest hits that established Rap and Hip Hop as the cultural force it is today.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doug_Wimbish

4. bass12

bass12 And Grace, too

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    I still trip on Doug's lines from those Sugar Hill sessions. That man is a nasty, nasty player.