Wireless: Yay or Nay?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by darkfish01, Nov 2, 2005.

1. darkfish01

Feb 11, 2005
    San Marcos, Tx
    Hello all. I've been playing bass for roughly 16 months and am now currently in my church's youth band as well as a general rock band. I usually play with a Spector Performer but also have a '99 MIM Fender Jazz that I use on occasion. Although I have a 20ft Monster cable that I love to death, I've yearned for the ability to wander into the crowd without worrying about those pesky cables. This leads me to my next question: do you think a wireless system would be worht it? I'm looking at the Nady Encore 200 and from the looks of things it would be a good buy. Opinions?
  2. ebladeboi123

Jul 11, 2005
    Oberlin, Oh
    My instinct says no. Everything nady has been a let down (imo). They are cheap, but honestly, you get what you pay for. I own a AKG guitarbug, and I now rarely use it. Honestly, it's not worth sacrificing tone to be able to go into the audience. What I do is just use a long cord (for big show) and a smaller cord (for small shows) wrap it through my strap, and let the party begin.
  3. unity bass

unity bass

Dec 15, 2003
    Modesto, Ca.
  4. MODNY

MODNY Guest

Nov 9, 2004
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I agree about the Nady, but there's one cheap wireless that kicks much butt...the Samson Stage 55. That is the ONLY cheap wireless I would even consider using.
  6. Razman

Feb 10, 2005
    Orange Park, FL