Wiring & shielding P/J Bass VVT

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Dr Dan, Mar 17, 2016.

1. Dr Dan

Dr Dan Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2011
    Hi everyone. I'm building a '51-style P-Bass with a Fralin 51P single coil in the neck position and a Dimarzio Ultra Jazz split-coil (series) in the bridge position. (Yes, I am aware that I will get single-coil hum from the neck pickup. I want an SCPB & I can live with the hum.) It has a metal control plate, with a side-mounted output jack, i.e. jack is not in the control plate. I'm using mini pots due to tight space in the Tele-style control cavity. I've done some research & come up with a wiring scheme that I think will work, but as I'm new at this I wanted to see whether anyone can spot any problems with it before I start.

* I'm planning to run a straight, bare ground wire to daisy-chain the pots, soldered to the back of each pot and soldered through the ground leg of each volume pot.

* That daisy-chain wire would continue past the tone pot to a lug mounted in the wall of the control cavity, along with ground from bridge and a ground wire between the control plate and body. One ground would run from the lug to the output jack ground terminal.

* The control cavity and pickup cavities are all shielded with shielding paint. The lug would ground the shielding.

Am I making any mistakes I'm not seeing? I've attached a schematic. Thanks for your help!
    Bass wiring.jpg

2. Dr Dan

Dr Dan Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2011
    Further question: since the pots are being attached to a control plate, as long as the control plate is grounded, is there anything to be gained by running a ground wire across the pot casings?
    Jazz Shielding Pictorial (Big Images Warning)

Not having to solder pot casings (& risk overheating) would be fine with me!