1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Work ethics... Does this blame fall on me?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by nathan, Mar 7, 2010.

1. nathan

nathan

Jul 16, 2004
    I work in an ice cream shop.

On our cash register, there is a note that says "do not take $100 bills". I've had to take them in the past before because people buy $30 worth of ice cream and pull one out. I tell them we aren't allowed to take the bill and ask if they have either a card or something smaller. Most of the time, they do. Sometimes they don't, and my manager has told me "in some cases, you have no choice but to take it."

Last week I had to take two $100 bills. One of them was a fake. I have no experience in spotting counterfeit bills and neither the owner of the store or the manager have ever trained me in what to look for to make sure it's real.

So, the owner tells me that he's either going to take $100 out of my next paycheck, or give me the fake bill and see if I can move it for real money and give it to him.

Something about this doesn't sit right with me, and I don't feel like I deserve to be fined $100. I mean, the manager said "sometimes you HAVE NO CHOICE" but nobody ever told me how to spot a fake one. Even though it says not to take them on the register, I still don't feel like I'm completely to blame. I feel like it's worse that the owner would ask me to commit a felony and risk getting in big trouble by moving the bill.

What are your thoughts on this? Can you give me some advice in what I should do?

2. RWP

RWP

Jul 1, 2006