1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Your favorite headphones

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by zZippy, Jan 15, 2019.

1. zZippy

zZippy

Oct 13, 2018
    British Columbia
    At the moment, I’m using some cheap in-ear headphones, or stealing my kid’s slightly less-cheap over-the-ear Sony pair to plug into my DI or amp for silent practice.

Both are OK for what I’m doing (scales, jamming along to aux-input songs, etc.), but I wouldn’t mind something better.

What’s your preferred headphone make/model/ style for this kind of thing? Why? What specs should I consider?

2. Sony MDR 7506 studio headphones are the pro standard and at $80 don't break the bank. You can hear all frequencies equally, no bass boost or any of that mess. I've been using them for over 20 years.

3. Sid s

Sid s

Dec 22, 2016
    Western NC, USA
    I use AKG K702. They were expensive but well worth it. They are comfortable and the frequency response is pretty darn good, whether you listen to your bass amp's output or anything else.

zZippy likes this.
  4. saabfender

saabfender Banned

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    Sennheiser HD580. Had this pair about 10 years. Love them.

Pewter camaro and zZippy like this.
  5. filmtex

filmtex Commercial User

May 29, 2011
    Annsman Pro Audio Dealer
    My son bought me a pair of ShureSRH240A's last Christmas. Still use them every day. Good sounding, comfortable and on sale often (at GC and others) for just under $100.

zZippy likes this.
  6. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

AKG K240 "studio" headphones

they are cheap. they are "reference" headphones. they are an industry standard for decades!

20-20k hz without (with minimal) coloration or 'fake bumps' in the frequency range.

good luck with your headphone search/decision! :thumbsup:

3bc, Chad Michael and zZippy like this.
  7. zZippy

zZippy