Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Zon VB5 review and pics!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dunamis, Feb 15, 2006.

1. dunamis

dunamis

Aug 2, 2004
    Charlotte
    New VB5, received from Zon on Monday (Feb. 13, ’06).:bassist:

First, let me say by way of disclaimer:
     I have no affiliation with Zon Guitars and no financial interest concerning them
     I am not a professional bassist. I play in with a band that provides contemp Christian and praise & worship music for a medium sized church (avg. attendance 500 to 600), and we play out as well (community events, Christian music concerts, etc.).
     I started playing bass in 1975 or 76, but put it down for almost 20 years, so my talents are meager at best.
     What follows is my opinion, and I have been known to make mistakes (if you don’t believe me, ask my wife—she’ll clear that up right away!:p ).

OK, with that out of the way, here are my impressions!

If you’ve seen a Zon bass in person, you know they’re well constructed, and this one is no exception. The VB5 is a 34” scale, 5 stringer, with a composite neck. It’s a “set neck” design and the body/neck joint on mine is seamlessly perfect.

The fretwork is the best of any bass I’ve owned (the list of current and previous basses being 2 Fenders, Rickenbacker, Dean, and Landing). Action is set low.

I chose the standard swamp ash body with flat finish, all black hardware, and had Zon add a ramp made of swamp ash and finished to match.