1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

12 Bar Blues Question

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Journey55, Aug 9, 2012.

1. Hello, today in my school's jazz band we started learning 12 bar blues for learning solos and (im not very good at walking bass) I had a question about how to walk the chord changes

Bb7 | - | - | - | Eb7 | - | Bb7 | - | F7 | Eb7 | Bb7 | F7 :||

I was just wondering (as the teacher told us to just use Bb, Db, Eb, E, F, and Ab) if I could only use those notes for walking or use the chords and walk with those (ie adding 7ths and such)

Sorry if this is obvious for you guys, I'm just starting out with this 12 bar stuff

2. Are you sure those notes are what he said? I think you had better ask the instructor again what he wants. I would have taken what he said as - to just use roots of the chord that is in play (for right now).

As all those chords are dominant seven (b7) chords a generic walking bass line for each chord could be R-3-5-b7.
    Code:
    Major Scale Box. 

G|---2---|-------|---3---|---4---| 1st string
    D|---6---|-------|---7---|---8---|
    A|---3---|---4---|-------|---5---|
    E|-------|---R---|-------|---2---|4th string

But I think he is saying to just use roots for right now.

3. The notes your teacher has given are a minor pentatonic scale. It is the go to scale for soloing over standard 12 bar blues changes.

With your walking lines, when somebody else is soloing, go with the simple chord tones or even root-5. I assume you are all beginners, so the more room you can give the horn players to solo with the better it is going to sound.

For your solo, use the notes your teacher has given you, because that is the lesson.

BassChuck likes this.
  4. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota