2003 Black and Silver Pedulla Rapture 5 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jacobw82, Mar 17, 2010.

1. jacobw82

jacobw82

Feb 1, 2008
    I have an opportunity to buy this bass for $850. It is a 5 string and I have only played on 4 strings since I started playing bass 13 years ago. I am just trying to get some feedback if this is a good deal. Also the sizing on this bass is .19 mm and with a 5 string I am not sure if my hands are big enough to play. I owned this exact bass in a 4 string 8 years ago. If anyone has played on a 5 string rapture can you tell me anything about it good or bad. I wont get to play this bass and I would be buying it just seeing the pictures. I want a pedulla so very bad and was just getting some info from those that have played them before. Any advice will help in this decision. FYI-I absolutely loved my 4 string rapture but had to sell for personal reasons.

Thanks

2. I have the exact same bass which i bought used for $1000 .Mine is also a 2003 production with the 19mm spacing. I love the bass, sounds and feels great. As far as going from 4 string to 5 string, some people have more of a problem than others. I bought my 1st 5 string after playing bass for 30 years, and admitingly it took a while to feel comfortable. This sounds like a great deal!!

3. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Jan 27, 2010
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    You shouldn't have a problem with the size of the neck as long as you use proper technique. I don't have huge hands and I only play 6ers.

4. jacobw82

jacobw82

Feb 1, 2008
    Thanks guys,yeah for $850 i thought it was a steal considering its has one small scuff on the back and that is it. I think it will take a while to adjust to the 5 but I am looking forward to it! I have seen basses like this on ebay going for around 1200-1500 used so i figured it was a pretty good deal.

5. J. Crawford

J. Crawford Supporting Member

Feb 15, 2008
    PA
    Definitely a steal.

6. bgartist