1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

5 String Upright Bass (Tuned EADGC)? Worth it?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by EnVico379, Oct 10, 2017.

1. EnVico379

EnVico379

Oct 10, 2017
    Hi!

I'm in the market for an upright bass, and have been considering a 5 string tuned with a high c. I'm a senior in high school who's going to college to study jazz, and music education as a bassist. For most of my life I've been an electric bassist, but for the last 3-4 years I decided to join the school orchestra in order to learn upright bass after discovering as mostly a jazz player upright bass is the name of the game in terms of traditional jazz. However, for this time I've been renting a standard student 4 string bass from my school, and I've only got a Stagg EUB at home for practice purposes, so I'm in the market to buy my frist bass for college. I've been playing 6 string electric bass, as well as 5 string tuned EADGC, and really enjoy having the high c for soloing. However, no matter how hard I look it seems like 5 string upright bass in general is considered untraditional (not in a good way), and is rarely used. I'm not afraid to stray away from tradition, but I am afraid of regretting my decision. As someone who plays mostly jazz, and fusion music I play 80% pizz give or take, although I've heard the High C sounds almost like a cello while played arco (in college I will probably have to play in orchestra, and if I have to perform classical solo bass repertoire, this sounds really appealing to me). Obviously I would go try a 5 string for myself before making any final judgement as I've never played one personally, but I'd like to hear some opinions from people who are knowledgeable on this subject. So:

Is a high C 5 string DB a concept worth exploring for someone who plays mainly jazz, and fusion music?