6550 vs KT88

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassboysam, Jul 23, 2004.

1. I have been trying to find out what exactly is the diffrence between these two tubes, power wise and sound wise, I am relatively new to the whole tube thing so please excuse my ignorance.
  2. KT88's can take higher plate voltage and dissipate more wattage, so they are more powerful (in the right circuit). But I have only used 6550's in my svt's. I had a Marshall Major with 6550's and it was only putting out about 60-80% of its power rating because it was designed for KT88's.
  3. You've come to the right place. Unfortunately, you're gonna get about twenty different opinions. In the end, the only way that will really matter is what you think after hearing both types in the same amp.
  4. MrBonex

Jan 2, 2004
    New Hampshire
    I think KT88s are a little more "hi-fi." I'm not sure why. It might be the headroom.

I love 'em both, but I prefer the KT88s. Both my amps have 'em and would never consider switching.

That said, my drummer (!) has an original SVT with 6550s and I LOVE that amp! But let's face it, SVTs just simply rock.

My Sound City Bass 150 does that Jack Bruce / Cream thing so damn well. So KT88s can rock pretty righteously as well. My band played "Smoke on the Water" for yuks a couple of nights ago and it totally nailed the tone. It was PERFECT!

What the hell. Flip a coin.
  5. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Here is what The Tube Store in Hamilton says about the 6550WE and the KT88 power tubes.

Sovtek 6550WE power tube.

From our listening test:
    "Emphasis can be heard in the lower bass and highest highs. At times the response is a little sluggish because of its compression factor with a fast attack and slow release. When the tube is pushed, it hotspots in the upper midrange, which will really bring out the crunchy guitars in rock music."

Now here is what they have to say about the Sovtek KT88 power tube.