1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

$700 to spend on a bass... Some advice needed!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zangetsu, Mar 24, 2009.

1. Zangetsu

Zangetsu

Sep 14, 2008
    I'm dying on the inside looking for a new bass, I've been playing an ESP LTD B-50 for the last 5 years, think its time to upgrade. All I'm concerned with is:

• Fast thin neck (VERY important the way I'm playing at the moment).
    • Access past the 17th fret is essential.
    • And good reliability as I'm gigging every second day.

Obviously I want a big durty growl out of her aswell :p

The style of music I'd be playing is anything from QOTSA, Placebo, Death from Above, Cure, Electro and Electronica.

So far my eyes have strayed across and ESP LTD B-4E, and Ibanez BTB670, a Cort B4 SP LTD and a Cort T74. Any other suggestions or opinions on what I've been looking at?

I'd really appreciate your help on this as I'm tearing my hair out at this stage...

2. prokfrog

prokfrog

Mar 16, 2007
    new jersey
    Look at Schecter

3. King V

King V

Dec 13, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    Any of the ones you mentioned are good choices for your budget. May I also recommend an Ibanez Soundgear or a Dean B2. There is a Dean B2 over at the lowend as we speak for $400.....a steal since it's basically a Peavy BQuad, just not quite as cool....and without the Modulus made graphite neck.

4. Double Agent

Double Agent

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL