1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A bass player with only one bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by martybernal, Nov 19, 2010.

1. I have been playing for 30 years and have had the enjoyment of owning many quality and crappy basses over the years. Having done that, I find that I have never been able to play any of them as well as my primary bass. So I go through the cycle of selling them and eventually try some others again later. I was wondering if anyone else here has had this experience. I only own one bass now and have finally convinced myself to stick with it because I can play it to the best of my ability. Any other bass in my hands and I feel like I struggle and fight it.

Marty

2. kjpollo

kjpollo

Mar 17, 2008
    CT
    Sorry to say, but I really cannot relate. I'm sure you'll find many players who do exactly that, but I'm not one of them.

We've been playing for almost the same length of time, but I've never found "The One". The closest I've come is with my Clement custom and I really do love that bass. But its not the only one I play. In fact, this weekend, its not coming to rehearsal for the first time in a long time.

I just added a couple of more or less "budget" basses- a T-20 and a Schecter Model T- and I need to hear how they sound in the mix. This'll also help me decide if both are staying around for the long term.

Right now I have 9 basses and I admit that I struggle to find the time to play all of them. I dont have to "fight" any of them and I really dont want to move any of them along, but the reality is that I need to upgrade my amp rig, I have little cash to spare and I have some basses that dont get played as much as they should.

3. christw

christw Get low!

May 11, 2008
    Dayton OH
    MAD SCIENTIST (Dayton Amp Co)