Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A broken Neck in Boston

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by ahockeyguy, Feb 20, 2004.

1. ahockeyguy

ahockeyguy

Feb 20, 2004
    Hey anybody,

I'm a poor college student at Tufts University in Boston. About a year ago, the neck on my bass cracked - laterally across the heal, about a half centimeter at the top tapering to nothing at the body joint. When I had it repaired, a pin was put through the heel of the neck and the crack was clamped and glued - but I keep my bass in a common closet and whether it was climate or mishandling - the crack is back. I have a concert on March 7th, and it would be nice to play my own bass, but I'm looking for a repair shop in Boston that does a good job - and hopefully won't cost a student an arm and a leg...Any suggestions would be great.

Thank You
    Elliot

2. John Sprague

John Sprague Sam Shen's US Distributor

Mar 10, 2003
    Rochester, NY
    Sales Manager, CSC Products Inc.
    Volker Nahrmann is in a nearby town, his number is (978) 667-0206. Very good bass guy.

3. Davehenning

Davehenning

Aug 9, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Call the bass dept at Berklee or the NEC. Ask them who they recommend.

4. Volker is definitely someone you would want to contact. I go to Berklee and one of my proffs mentioned him to me when I was talking about upright basses, i can give you his number if you'd like...i'm sure he could help you out be it repairs or recommendations. I know of Rutman Violins...its right off Mass Ave...but i haven't heard the greatest reviews...I also have another number in the same area of Volker that might be able to help you out.
    -Katy

5. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA