1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A few questions on MAC recording.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by BassSurfer, Nov 1, 2010.

1. I have a standard Macbook Pro with no line in jack on the side ( just headphones )

It has garageband as well, but would the best option be just getting an audio interface for this? I don't have that direct line in, but does this even matter? I am very new to this so anyone who can point me in the right direction, it would help a-lot!

Don't want anything TOO serious, but any recommendations on a audio interface would be nice to hear too..

ANY help would be great!

Thanks!

EDIT: was just told the jack is a combo line in/headphone jack..is this true?

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Forget that jack. Get an interface with USB or firewire.

3. Good enough for me, thanks bongo.

4. bassistloaded21

bassistloaded21 Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    Los Angeles, CA
    If i were you i would go with the new pro tools boxes. The Mbox 3 mini would probably be perfect. I was thinking of getting the apogee one, but with the pro tools products, you can use them on both Logic and on Pro Tools. Cant do that with most other products.

5. plangentmusic

plangentmusic Banned

Jun 30, 2010
    Manhattan
    All done with just garage band and a $90 interface.

Get one. You'll need it. You won't regret it.

6. uhdinator

uhdinator

Apr 20, 2010
    Maine
  7. adamb1026

adamb1026

Nov 6, 2010
    Belfast
    Interface If you used you Mac's internal soundcard you are gonna get some awful sound no matter how expensive the mic or amp you use.

I work in an electronic store and too many people think using a £100 mic into their Dell laptop will sound fantastic without an interface.