1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A first amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tmacnz, Nov 21, 2006.

1. So I finally convinced my wife to get me a bass for christmas (which is hidden in my house somewhere...). Now I need an amp.

I am new to bass (have played guitar for about 6 years) so 95% of the time for the first little while I will be playing at home by myself or to music but I do have a couple of people who very occasionally I would like to play with - one is a novice drummer another is a guitarist. Its possible that once in a really blue moon I'll get the chance to jam with a few people.

So my question ... I was thinking about buying a marshall B25 MKII (25 watt practice amp - there is a used one for sale) ... but I've been reading the forums and wonder if this will mean that I probably won't be able to play with my drummer friend (she's a beginner) or a plugged in guitar?

Bonus question -- the amp has a headphone out jack -- can I connect this to a soundcard on my computer?

Thanks in advance!

Tmac

2. Hi Tmac,
    I bet you can't wait for christmas. For the amp, I can't speak directly about the B25, but if you're planning on buying from the rockshop, that's gonna run you about $300NZ. I say be patient and watch trademe. It takes a long time for a decent deal to come up,but it's often worth it. I got a Nemesis NC115 in perfect condition for $610 a few months ago. It was 6 months old and only ever played in church. They're $1850 new at Atwaters.