Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A question for distortion users

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Chris M, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Chris M

Chris M

Oct 23, 2005
    Littleton, CO
    This thread is inspired by the 'Post your pedal board' thread...

The one thing I've noticed in that thread is that many of you have multiple distortion pedals on your board. I doubt you use them all at the same time (although some may mix a couple I'm sure) so I'd imagine your going for a particular sound with each pedal..

I've been playing for about 16 years now and I used distortion in the beginning mainly because I loved Cliff Burton and wanted to learn 'Anesthesia/Pulling Teeth', but after that looked to find the best possible clean tone I could find and my distortion pedal began to collect dust..

I know that some players (Larry Graham in particular) use distortion to create some pretty killer stuff, but I didn't know it was quite so prevalent..

So, not only what sounds are you guys going for, but what players inspired you to find these sounds? I guess I've spent most of my life in a proverbial bubble so I didn't see some of this stuff. Open my eyes...

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    The only distortion i use is a Boss ODB-3 every once in a while for more proggy songs that my band does.

I originally bought it because of Anesthesia.

3. arbitrary

arbitrary Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2005
    Boston, MA
    Listen to Cave-In!!!

4. Kelly Lee

Kelly Lee Yeah, I'm a guy! Supporting Member

Feb 17, 2004
    Marana, AZ, USA
    Listen to Dan Maines' (Clutch) intro for the live version of Spacegrass. :bassist: I love how the bass and drums take care of the verses and the guitar is adding the little nuances over the top of them. Sweeeeeeet. :bassist:

That is what I call phat distortion and is what I have been trying to recreate myself.