1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A question on cab and head size for gigging

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Smitty1939, Dec 12, 2018.

1. Smitty1939

Smitty1939

Dec 12, 2018
    Wyoming
    Hey everyone!
    Just had a quick question I wanted to run by some knowledgeable bassists like yourself. I just started playing live with a cover band (we mostly play 90’s punk) and I really have to upgrade my bass setup right now. I’m looking at getting a TC Electronics BQ250 and a Peavey Headliner 210. Do you guys think this would be enough to gig with? And if not, can you give some suggestions on what I should get. Thanks for your time, I really appreciate it!

2. I am guessing you play fairly loud?
    If so, more speaker area and more power (in that order)
    may help you out.
    If you can get out and see what others in your area are using
    and how those amps are working for them it may give you some first hand knowledge
    without the expense of buying lots of amps until you find the right one for you.

Jim C and Smitty1939 like this.
  3. himluis1

himluis1

Sep 28, 2012
    Florida
    Well i been using a tc electronic bh250 for almost 2 years , we have been to different places and i never had an issue , the key is the cab , sometimes i been ok with a 210 , sometimes i have used a 410 ... with and without pa support , so i guess is good to have multiple cabs in case u need to move more air and be heard ! hope that helps

4. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA