1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Achieving Better Sound

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Deep Release, Jul 18, 2012.

1. Would appreciate any advice.

I’m not a sound engineer, just a musician trying to get a better sound.

We’re a 4 piece band, 2 Guitars, Bass and Drums. We generally get a good sound most nights, Guitars seem to get lost in the mix (Although the stage volume seems high), I’m always compensating, eventually getting it. When I check certain other bands, good ones, the sound is clean and you hear everything perfectly.

We bought our own equipment about 8 years ago, we were paying sound guys as much as or more than the individual band members were getting, some were really good, some were really bad, so we invested in a “set it and forget it” system. Suggested by a friend in the business, we’ve seen similar set-ups work well for others, so we bought it.

It’s a simple PA set-up, Allen & Heath MixWizard 16:2, running through a BBE 882i Sonic Maximizer to two QSC 15” 3 way active speakers, Drums and guitars are miked, Bass runs direct. We use three Mackie SRM150 monitors, and a floor wedge, trying to keep our stage volume low.

My question is, would an equalizer help clean up the sound?

We’ve talked about a sub, but we feel like we have enough bottom end.

I guess I may always think it could sound better...

2. The sonic maximizer is something people use when they have no idea how to setup a good PA system. Everything it does can be achieved by good PA setup and proper EQ. I would absolutely invest in an EQ unit. Maybe sell the BBE for it. Get two if you can, one for the floor wedge.

If you have enough bottom end I wouldn't bother with a sub, personally.