Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Active bass???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DirkLanceFan, Jun 10, 2004.

1. DirkLanceFan

DirkLanceFan Guest

May 8, 2003
    Dallas, Tx, USA
    I know it's a shame for me to ask this but I've been playing bass for about 2 yrs.( I just played, I didn't worry about "active" when buying a bass) and I dont whats with the "active" in bass terms??? can someone help me?? :rollno: :bassist:

2. Gretschluvr

Gretschluvr

Jun 8, 2004
    Passive bass is just a standard coil pickup as originally invented for the electric guitar and bass. Active system has a small preamp board inside the bass to amplify the signal from the pickup. As in my bass, it has an active equalizer. Not just a preamp for amplifying the signal but has active tone controls (bass, mid, and treble). This type system can:
    1. get louder (even to the point of overdriving an amp in most cases)
    2. more sound versatility.
    3. uses typically a 9 volt battery that is stored inside the control cavity of the bass itself.

Hope this helps you understand,
    Gary

3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Active basses typically have an on-board pre-amplifier, usually with associated tone controls. The electronics usually are powered by one or two 9-volt batteries in a cavity on the back of the bass. The active EQ allows you to boost or cut a particular frequency range (bass, mid, treble) as opposed to passive systems which are usually cut only.

I like active basses for their versatility. My only passive bass (out of 9) is a Fender Roscoe Beck 5, which also is pretty versatile.