1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Active circuit, passive pickups?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by kyleaubu, Mar 16, 2013.

1. kyleaubu

kyleaubu

Mar 5, 2013
    Fallon, NV
    Ok so Im very new to the world of understanding the electronic side of my instruments. So I looked up the specs on all my guitars. These are the specs for my Spector Korean Pro Classic 4.

ELECTRONICS
    TONE CIRCUIT: Spector® TonePump Jr. Tone Circuit™
    CIRCUIT TYPE: Active - 2-Band
    CIRCUIT VOLTAGE: 9-Volt
    BRIDGE PICKUP: SSD™ Humbucking Pickup
    NECK PICKUPS: SSD™ Humbucking Pickup
    PICKUP TYPE: Passive

How is it that its an active circuit but passive pickups? I was under the impression that active was active and passive was passive. I just plain dont understand lol. I tried doing a search but couldnt come up with anything. I figured I could get the answer Im looking for much quicker this way.

2. You obviously didn't look too hard. :p

That said, yes. Most of the time, when people say active basses, they mean passive pickups with an active onboard EQ. Common misconception, really.

3. kyleaubu

kyleaubu

Mar 5, 2013
    Fallon, NV
    I ALWAYS have a problem trying to find what im looking for. I guess im just not all that technologically savvy lol

4. 90% of "active" basses are done this way. It makes little sense to have both active pickups, and a preamp.

5. Some pickups can require power to function i.e. active pickups.

Some don't require power to function i.e. passive.

ALL preamps are active.

A bass w/ passive pickups and an active preamp can run in both active and passive modes.

The problem you are having is that you are trying to see the pickups and the preamp as one unit. They are not.

6. Oh. If you have active pickups you HAVE to have a preamp.