1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Adding a J to my P question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by bassgod76, Mar 18, 2008.

1. bassgod76

bassgod76 bass turd burglar

Mar 13, 2003
    South Florida
    I took my old Mexican Fender P Bass and have hot-roded it with a new bridge, tuners and electronics. I'm also going to add a J pickup in the standard bridge position behind the P pickups.

Obviously I want to take my time with placement of this piece before routing. Does anyone know the common distance that Fender uses in P Bass specials from the top edge of the bridge, to the bottom of the J pickup? I'm thinking it's around 1 1/2", but I'm a newbie with guitar modification. God, I hope that makes sense.

Also, I assume the edge of the bridge is a good place to get a correct horizontal level for the J pickup?

Any advice on this operation would be most helpful.
    Thanks,
    Todd

2. BatRastard

BatRastard

Mar 18, 2008
    Santa Fe, NM
    Hey bassgod, I just joined this forum in part to ask this question!

I am thinking of upgrading my stepson's Squire P-bass and may add
    the jazz pup to it. I went to the Squire site to see how they do it
    on their J-P and it looks like it is 1 1/8" above the bridge. I got this by
    lining up a piece of paper to the gap between the bridge and j-pup
    and by my mark it is the same as the p-pups are wide ... 1 1/8".

Hopefully someone will chime in soon with more accurate info,
    perhaps even a bassgod with capital letters!:hyper:

You may want to check out stewmac for routing templates:
    http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Templates/4/Pickup_Routing_Templates.html

How are you planning on wiring it in? Two volume pots or a blend pot?

Bat

3. Matt R.

Matt R.

Jul 18, 2007
    Huntsville AL
    Check the Warmoth site. They may be able to help. Good luck

4. bassgod76

Mar 13, 2003