Advice needed: a guitar player learning how to play bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bugo, Oct 11, 2011.

1. bugo

bugo

Oct 4, 2011
    I've dabbled with the bass a lot but I've never mastered it. I haven't exactly "mastered" the guitar either but I've been playing for 20 years. I want to teach myself how to play the bass as well as I play guitar. What advice would you seasoned bass players give a newbie like me? I'm going to try to learn to play with my fingers, but I might give in and play with a pick. Should I throw my "guitar" thinking completely out the window and approach the bass as a completely different instrument or should I build off my guitar knowledge?

2. kevteop

kevteop

Feb 12, 2008
    York, UK
    It's still basically a guitar, just bigger and tuner an octave lower. Just get one and give it a go.

3. Silver9692

Silver9692

Aug 17, 2011
    California
    Just make sure you don't try and play the Bass exactly like its a guitar, learn to play with the drums and lay down a thick groove. And have fun : ppp

4. 5StringFool

5StringFool

Jun 10, 2011
    Greenup, KY

Imo it isn't an either/or situation, it would be to your advantage to do both those things. When I first started I began playing with a pick since I already had picking skills from playing guitar and fretboard knowledge about note location and some basic scales. I began working on fingerstyle and as I became more efficient with it began incorporating it into live performances. Now I have both techniques at my disposal.

There is most definitely a shift in approach though since your role as a bass player is different from the role of guitar. Lots of good info concerning that at this website:

Online Bass Lessons at StudyBass.com

Welcome to the "underwolrd". :D

5. SGS

SGS

Mar 21, 2010