Against my better judgment...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by vanderbrook, Dec 6, 2021.

1. vanderbrook

vanderbrook Heretic Supporting Member

Aug 21, 2001
    Denver, CO, USA
    ...I'm going to post about my current double bass adventure/dilemma. (Why against my better judgment? Because I know that the opinions of other bassists will have varying degrees of relevance for me, and that I must make a decision that will please me, not you.) It is my hope that one of you will share an observation that I haven't thought of that will push me off the fence I'm straddling.

While many of you are more experienced than I, I have been playing DB for nearly 40 years, and I've owned laminated (2), fully-carved (1) and hybrid (2) instruments. I've played a number of other basses while shopping.

Back in August, following a hiatus of about five years, I purchased a Shen SB88 (laminated) and started playing again. Like the Engelhardt I started out on, the 88 is very resonant, and somewhat louder than both the carved and hybrid basses I've owned. I like the sound.

Late last month, I decided that I should upgrade to a hybrid bass, so I traded the 88 in on a Shen SB150. I'd already owned one of these, briefly, and have played others. Some 150s sound better than others. This one is a fine-sounding specimen.

Why the upgrade? A lot of reading here on TB convinced me that I needed a carved top if I was going to do any arco at all (and I've been taking some lessons with a symphony player to master the most fundamental of the fundamentals of arco-for-jazz -- occasional accompaniment, not soloing). I also made some inferences from posts here that anyone serious about playing jazz ought to be using a carved, or at least a hybrid bass. In some cases, no inference was needed; the poster as much as said so.