1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Age Bias for Conservatory (hopefully unlikely!)

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by basspirate777, Mar 22, 2009.

1. basspirate777

basspirate777

Mar 21, 2009
    Latrobe, Pa
    Hey folks. Just wanted to first say that these forums have been a huge resource for me since I found them- I can't BELIEVE that was two days ago. ...newfangled internet ;)

Hopefully some relevant info about myself;

I'm an adult student who will be entering a conservatory DB program next fall. I'm 25 years old-studying electric now for 14 years and double bass for 2.5. My main focus has really gone over to the classical side over the past year and a half. I'm still trucking along in Simandl, but 500 performances, 10 albums 50 electric students over the past eight years PLUS an awesome teacher have at least given me a little bit of an edge up on progressing quickly through the initial 'method' phase of learning.

Finally, my question;

I notice though that so many opportunities; summer festivals, performance competitions, etc. have age guidelines. Considering that I will be 29-30 by the time I can attain a BA and 32 at the point I can reach a Master's; am I totally ****ed out of basically any opportunity that will help me to gain much needed experience for my career? Or would you assume that the matter more rests on the fact that most conservatory students happen to be a younger age than myself?

Any thoughts? Impressions? Statements of a related nature?

2. basspirate777

basspirate777

Mar 21, 2009
    Latrobe, Pa
    Maybe I'm just too old.

I would hope 25 isn't /old/!

3. drew_bassmore

drew_bassmore Supporting Member

Oct 31, 2000
    San Francisco Bay Area