Aguilar TLC vs. Pigtronix PBC Philosopher Bass Compressor

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Serpenti, Oct 21, 2016.

1. Serpenti

Serpenti

Apr 20, 2016
    I'm searching for a good compressor,
    right now I'm thinking about these 2 pedals:

- Aguilar TLC

- Pigtronix PBC Philosopher Bass Compressor

Wich one do you prefer, and why ?

2. Al Kraft

Al Kraft Supporting Member

May 2, 2016
    Northern Virginia
    Ovnilabs Compressor reviews may have some great insights for you from a true compressor expert.

I own a a Diamond Bass Compressor and the Aguilar TLC. I think many of the Pigtronix units use a special power supply (like my Diamond) to get extra headroom. They may run on less, but I'm not sure what you might lose that could be of value to you. Sorry I can't offer anything more on the Pigtronix - it wasn't something I even tried out and I have no first hand experience using it.

The TLC runs on 9 volts (standard Boss configuration or battery) and is very transparent/clean. It does it's job without imparting any special flavor/coloration, unlike my Diamond which adds a nice depth/warmth to the tone. The Aguilar can be used for more typical compression functions or peak limiting. It does both jobs without any noticeable artifacts at least to my ear. The bypass is especially nice and clean/transparent as pedals in general go.

3. Pacodelivery

Pacodelivery Supporting Member

May 25, 2014
    Baltimore
    Hey! I've owned both. Do you want a compressor "effect" or do you want a compressor for practical reasons - ie; string leveling, peak limiting, light smoothing, etc.

The pigtronix is fantastic at making you sound like you're playing through a compressor, and it's a great sound.

The Aguilar is quite transparent; there's a slight sharpening of the highs, and tightening of the lows, but not much more.

The pigtronix has the added bonus of the grit switch, which gives you a pretty cool distortion sound, I've never found anything quite like it.