Amp newbie here - why isn't my SpeakOn cable working?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LamarKafka, Jun 5, 2021.

1. LamarKafka

LamarKafka

Oct 25, 2015
    Edinburgh
    I just got my first proper head and cab (Tech 21 VT Bass 500 head, Fender Rumble 1x15 cab) and when I plug the head in, I just get a click/squeak through the cab every few seconds and no amp signal. The cable is just a standard Stagg SpeakOn from Amazon and, based on eyeballing it, seems to have the right pins. What am I doing wrong?

Zooberwerx likes this.
  2. Redbrangus

Redbrangus Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2018
    Under The X In Texas
    Can you find the "Neutrik" brand name on the speaker cable connectors? Do you know someone you could borrow another Speakon cable from for test purposes?

Edit: Actually, if you're getting any sound through the speaker at all, the speaker cable isn't likely to be the problem. It's possible that you have a problem with the amp -- but you need to be able to do some isolating to troubleshoot whether or not that's the problem.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2021
    MAXSPINRUN and LamarKafka like this.
  3. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    Speakon cables are inserted, then rotated until they click securely in place. Make sure you get the click.

Stagg does not use genuine Neutrik connectors, which can be an issue. I also see that the are made with wire that has “conductive rubber”, which sounds like an oxymoron. I would return it for a better product.

4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Inconclusive...not enough information. I'll assume you don't have the gear-on-hand to do component swap-outs to isolate the culprit. Any way you can hook up with somebody locally (...with amp>Speakon cable>cab) for some proper diagnostics? Load up, hit the road, and you can be at my place in a week.

Riis

DrMole and LamarKafka like this.
  5. Redbrangus

Nov 19, 2018
    Under The X In Texas