1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

amp noobie

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by taygunov, Dec 31, 2011.

1. taygunov

taygunov Guest

May 8, 2008
    Hi, so I've been playing bass for about 5 years, mostly at home. I been using a tiny combo all these years and never gave it any thought. But now, gigs are coming up.

Thing is, I have absolutely no idea what to look for. I'm guessing I need a head and a cab? I need something loud and obviously nice sounding...preferably light. something that wont break or blow out on me in half a year. My budget is fairly low but I understand that I'm not gonna get a pro rig for pennies, so I'm willing to save up more.

Any suggestions? Any information needed to help you decide for me I will be happy to supply.

2. christw

christw Get low!

May 11, 2008
    Dayton OH
    I want to be Tesla (tinkerer at Dayton Amp Co)
    What kind of music are you playing? What kind of tone do you want? What's your budget? How big is the show? (How many people?) Will you have PA support or will the bass have to carry it's own? How loud is your band? (What amps and anything else you're up against.) Ummm... That's off the top of my head.

3. 500W head (or combo) with 4x10 cab or a 2x10 + 1x12 cab combo. My template answer.

4. pan1k

pan1k

Sep 16, 2011
    Las Vegas, NV
    +1. Pretty much the jest of questions you should ask yourself

5. taygunov

taygunov Guest

May 8, 2008
    Music: hardcore to jazz and EVERYTHING in between.
    Tone: From clanky and bright to smooth and 'uprighty'
    Budget: Under $600 preferably but ofcourse I can save up more
    Show Size: I guess bars, lounges, average sized music clubs...
    PA support : lets say no and yes? not sure
    Band: drummer tends to really bash on the skins so louder wouldn't hurt ;)