1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Amp Wattage help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CarmenWilliams, Oct 26, 2018.

1. CarmenWilliams

CarmenWilliams

May 18, 2018
    I'm in a 3 piece hard rock band and I'm wondering what wattage would be best to get my sound through. Why is there such a wide range (250w - 1000w) when it comes to bass? When guitar is alot lower. I'm originally a guitar player so I'm new to bass. I'm wondering what is a decent wattage amount.

2. voided3

voided3

Nov 11, 2008
    It depends. Your cabinets largely limit how loud you can get while the amp determines how much headroom you have to work with.

Knowing nothing else about your needs or ideal sound, I would blindly suggest an amp in the 500 to 800 watt range through either a pair of vertical 2x10 cabs, a pair of 1x15 cabs, or if you like to really get loud, a pair of 4x10 or 2x12 cabs or an 8x10.

I realize that's a vague reply, but there are a ton of variables that go into what amp will work for you.

3. CarmenWilliams

CarmenWilliams

May 18, 2018
    Thanks for the reply! I just purchased this 2x15 cab (for only $60!) and it sounds massive. I love it. It's allowed my sound to really stand out. I was running a 250w 2x10 Fender Bassman combo amp before and it wasn't enough.

Attached Files:

4. voided3

voided3

Nov 11, 2008
    Hmm, I'll let someone more familiar with older Peavey's chime in to confirm, but I'm guessing that cabinet would be safe with about 300 watts realistically, given the era it's from.

5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Bass requires much more power to amplify at a comparable volume to guitar.

Al Kraft, G-Dog and Old Garage-Bander like this.