1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg backline amp choice - help me decide which one

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pfschim, Mar 5, 2013.

1. pfschim

pfschim Just a Skeleton with a Jazz bass Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    Going to play two sponsored shows in Texas next week :cool:

Got the backline info today. For bass there is a choice, SVT 4Pro or SVT 6Pro, into an 810e. There will be serious FOH, the venue is providing Countryman DI's, and will do DI and cab mic mix for bass, so all is good in that regard.

As I have limited recent Ampeg experience (I have had all kinds of old school backline SVTs over the years - just not in the past 10 yrs or so) , I wanted to seek the collective wisdom of TB to decide which of these amps might work best for me.

I am currently using a PF500/115HE rig for most gigs with this band, and I really like the way the PF500 fits the sound of the music (think alt- country, rockish, Sheryl Crow, Lucinda Williams etc etc). I will use a Fender Jazz Deluxe and currently set the PF500 very clean:
    Gain = 2 o'clock (peak light rarely glows)
    Comp = noon (just trims the peaks on the Fender)
    Ultra Lo ON, Ultra Hi OFF
    Bass = 12:30
    Mid = 3 o'clock+
    Mid selector = 5 (highest mid setting)
    Treb = 12:30

the sound is tight, punchy and plenty big down low for the style.

I see that both the 4Pro and 6Pro are tube front ends, and the 6Pro has a comp built in, but beyond that, I do not see anything to indicate the significant differences.

I will also be going into the FOH via DI and cab mic, and will trust the sound guy to do a good balance in the house (hope so anyway), so the amp will really just give me pants flap/vibration and stage tone.

So, TB, which Ampeg should I plug into ?

2. cjp3044

cjp3044