1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg V4B dating/price/power

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by WorldCarver, Nov 4, 2013.

1. WorldCarver

WorldCarver

Jun 30, 2011
    I've recently run into a vintage Ampeg V4B that I'm interested in buying but cant quite narrow down the date. It looks like it's somewhere between 76-79. Are there any obvious tells to give away the year? Have any of you bought a head around this age? What did you pay for it?

The link to the head:
    http://harrisonburg.craigslist.org/msg/4166805026.html

Secondly, I run a pretty large rig consisting of both an 810 AND a 215. I've had little to no experience with all tube heads and but love the rich warm tone they push out. I realize that tube power tends to push out more volume to wattage compared to solid state but will this 120ish watt head be able to handle the work load?

Any light shed on this would be awesome.

2. I can't help you date the amp or anything, but make sure that the amp will handle the impedance of your cabs. I'm assuming your cabs are both 4 ohms? I'm not sure if the old V4B's can run 2 ohms. I know my 2005 V4BH cant.

3. Just as a heads up, no 2x15 will be able to keep up with a fridge. It's just the same as the 4x10 plus 1x15 debacle.

Edit: For my use, I could not work with a 100W amp. It also will not be able to push your cabinets anywhere near to their capabilities.

4. Price seems high for that new of one and in the shape it's in. Yes it will drive a 2 ohm load (taps are 2,4 and 8 ohms).

5. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2007
    boston, ma
    I wouldn't pay that much for a late 70s V4 unless it had been recapped and had fresh tubes, preferably something NOS. That's the downside of the vintage amps, they will come with a higher maintenance cost that should be factored in when you buy one.