Ampeg V4B or PF50T?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mickebas, Apr 25, 2018.

1. I have a chance of buying a used early 2000’s V4B, made in US paired with a SVT 410HE for basically the same money as a brand new PF50T.
    I’m thinking that as far as sound goes they’re pretty similar but looks and weight (move-ability) is totally different.
    Anyone who has insight in wich one would be the one to go for.
    I play lots of different gigs and styles but very selldom metall or anything close. Im a working musician so it’s a little of everything... jazz, pop, rock, motown, latin and anything in between. Portability is definitely a factor but sound is the most important thing.
    Grateful for all kinds of advice from anyone with experience.

2. backin82

backin82 Jack of a Few Trades Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2009
    Oklahoma City, OK
    I recently debated the same thing, played both side by side a bit, and I went with the V4 based on volume and tone. It is true that they both sound "Ampeg-y", but the V4 has an "it factor" that the 50T just doesn't. The V4 is like the Millennium Falcon compared to the 50T, which is like a Tie Fighter.

I've moved it twice to rehearsal and it is a beast to move. But I find the sound difference worth the effort (for now). The V4 is a huge head, so take that into consideration for how it'll fit in your vehicle and amp/rack. I decided to pair it with two 112AV's and it sounds amazing. I also play in pretty similar groups to you.

If you can settle for less headroom and value portability, I'd honestly recommend the 50T. If tone is paramount, go with the V4.

ScottTunes and ErnieD like this.
  3. Thanks! Tone is still definitely the most important factor and I got a good sized transportation vehicle and a trolley so the V4 seems to be the safest bet then.
    The PF50T also needs a speaker if I would go that road so it’s a bigger investment.
    Do you think a 410 HE is a good cabinett for the V4?

4. Wisebass

Wisebass