Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ampeg V6B head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bassman Bender, Jan 8, 2006.

1. Bassman Bender

Bassman Bender

Jan 7, 2006
    I'm outgrowing my small combo amp and need more power. I have an old Ampeg V6B in my garage that I used to play when I was in a rock band. It's a solid state, 240 watt head. It shuts off after about a minute of use, so it needs repair. I've never seen any of these elsewhere and the SVT seems to be the most popular Ampeg. Is my old V6B worth fixing?

2. Bassman Bender

Bassman Bender

Jan 7, 2006
    OK, so it's an old Ampeg from the 1970s. Anyone ever seen or heard of the V6B? (I'm just a burned-out old bassist; all my basses have four strings.)

3. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    I'll give you a bump. Not sure what the problem is, but I can't imagine it being the be-all end-all that the SVTs or V-4Bs are. Might be worth fixing - have a techie look at it. Could be a very simple problem (a lot of the time, it is).

4. tornadobass

tornadobass Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Iowa City, Iowa
    Endorsing Artist: Black Diamond & SuperSensitive strings
    There's not a lot of info available on that head...a couple of H-C reviews show that it's a '70s SS amp with basic controls. That wasn't the best era for SS amps.

I have the cab that it came with, a huge 2x15.

BTW, if you're interested in parting with the amp, I might be interested.

5. Wesley R

Wesley R Supporting Member

Can't be too crazy, does it sound OK prior to shut down?

Best of Luck,
    Wesley R.

6. Bassman Bender

Bassman Bender

Jan 7, 2006