Amplifier Recommendation

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by radicalwalrus, Sep 12, 2010.

1. radicalwalrus

radicalwalrus

Sep 12, 2010
    Hello everyone, I am sort of new to bass, I've been playing guitar for 7 years, but I recently picked up bass. I don't know a lot about bass amps, but I had a few in mind for my price range. So I need help with a recommendation of which may be better.

1) Fender Rumble 350 350W 2x10 Bass Combo Amp
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-Rumble-350-350W-2x10-Bass-Combo-Amp-105805188-i1500545.gc

2) Line 6 LowDown LD300 Pro Combo Bass Amp
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Line-6-LowDown-LD300-Pro-Combo-Bass-Amp-103666988-i1145778.gc

Thank you for your help.
    (P.S. I don't know if this is a factor in which I should get but I play for a Hardcore/Metalcore band, but I also play lounge and jazz. So if that helps with which I should get let me know.)

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Metal means loud, and loud means lot's-o-speakers. If you want to go with a combo amp, look for one that has alot of juice, and the capability to add an ext spkr in parallel. It would say somehting like 350 watts at 8 ohms, (internal 2x10), 500 watts at 4 ohms, (using an 8 ohm ext cab). That fender won't do this, not sure about the Line 6 amp. Lots of amps do, like SWR combo's, and certain Ampeg combo's. Otherwise, I'd seriously consider seperates, in the 300-500 watt range for the head, and at least a 4x10 cab.

3. What RickenBoogie said. You may want to consider adding a smaller rig for your lounge gigs to ease your load.

4. radicalwalrus

radicalwalrus

Sep 12, 2010
    I was looking at some heads and cabs, but I didn't know if I would be needing it, or have enough money. But if a 300-500 head and 4x10 cab is a good choice then I have some in mind.