1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Another Schroeder Story

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Matt2, Apr 4, 2006.

1. Maybe this doesn't need it's own thread, but hey, here's my 2c on the 1210.

I've been struggling for years now trying to make the most of an old Peavey rig that sometimes put out enough volume to be heard and sometimes didn't. Sometimes I used a 210, sometimes a 115 and ocassionally both together (which is quite loud). Even when it could be heard, it wasn't exactly the nicest sound. Trying to compete with two marshall half stacks and an overly excitable drummer didn't help things either.

Due to lack of finances I've been doing a progressional upgrade of my gear for about 9 months. Started with a new bass (MM SUB - amazing value for money), then got the 1210 in december last year.

It was far louder than a Peavey 210tx with the same head (Peav Mk VI), but it felt pretty empty, very middy and not quite there. I knew from reviews that it needs some decent wattage to really get moving, however the 250watts was all I had on hand. Besides, Jorg had told me it would be fine due to the speakers high efficiency.

Over the last month or two I've managed to pick up a Yamaha PB-1 and a used Crest CA6 to really try out the Schro. A couple of weeks ago I finally got to give the 1210 a go with some more wattage, though I was only using one side of the CA6 at the time, about 500w. The cab did sound better, as I'd expected it would, but again it wasn't quite the sound that I'd thought people had been talking about here. It was good but was it worth the AU$2600 I'd spent putting this little rig together? I wasn't convinced.