Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

any ideas?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by XlilmetalchickX, Jan 15, 2004.

1. XlilmetalchickX

XlilmetalchickX Guest

Jan 13, 2004
    Jersey
    so i'm sitting here bored outta my mind with my perdy-ful silver 5-string Ibanez sitting in my lap when i decided that i want to learn some new songs. i'm a very beginner bassist but i like to be challenged. i have to be able to clearly hear the bass in the song or i'll just give up. any ideas for me?

2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    What model Ibanez 5-er? (I've got a purdy silver, well grey EDB605)

Make a list of tunes you can already play to give an idea what level you are at and what you like.

BTW - Welcome to TalkBass. :bassist: :bassist:

edit - never mind, you've already listed what you can play in your sig :D ...let me think and I'll get back to you.

3. Try out the Tascam DC-BT1 CD bass trainer. Pop a cd into it and plug in your bass. The trainer has a bass boost setting to bring out the bass track a little more. You can also cut the bass out, so you can play along your own part. It also allows you to slow down the song up to 50% without changing the pitch, so you can learn the chops and gradually speed it up as you learn.

It has some cheesy(IMO) built in effects like distortion,synth,chorus,ect.

They run 149.99 at most music shops.

4. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
  5. XlilmetalchickX

XlilmetalchickX Guest

Jan 13, 2004
    Jersey
    i dunno the model. i bought it used and they didnt tell me anything. something about soundgear, lol. i'v been told by my instructor and other bassists that have seen it thats its a great bass.

i put a list in my siggy.. hee hee

tankies for the welcome! i feel so.. welcomed, lol