Any lefty turned righty bassists here? If so, please help.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Float on man, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Float on man

Float on man

Mar 10, 2018
    Hi, I’m a lefty bassist with a lefty bass and been playing lefty for as most six months now. I’ve been thinking about fliping my nut and just playing right handed, but everytime I do play it righty, I just go back to being lefty again. Any tips for staying righty?

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Just play... MUSIC....in the most natural and comfortable way for you.

3. Rock Salad

Rock Salad

Jun 30, 2018
    Tulsa, Ok. USA
    No tips, but it does sound like you might be lefty unfortunately.
    However I would try asking in the DB (Talk Bass Double Bass) forums.

4. 928cat

928cat

Aug 6, 2018
    USA
    It seems like the best time to have started playing right handed would have been at the very beginning of your playing. Switching now would be taking on reversing all the brain, hand coordination that you spent 6 months ingraining. Is there a reason you want to do it other than better availability of basses?

Jhengsman likes this.
  5. saabfender

saabfender Inactive

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    Sell your left-handed bass, get a right-handed bass, play it and Bob's your uncle.

6. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA

This. If you keep a lefty bass around it will always be easier to play it.

Do you remember how awkward you felt the first time you played bass ever? Welp, the first time you play right handed it's going to feel the same way.

7. Float on man

Float on man

Mar 10, 2018