1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ask a drummer

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Shalto, Sep 25, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Shalto

Shalto

Aug 23, 2019
    Australia
    Hi folks,

I'm an amateur drummer and thought it might be fun to do an AMA style thread for anyone who works with an amateur drummer and has questions that are impolite to ask your own drummer or prospective drummer. If you have a pro drummer you are better of asking them. I'm more of the dedicated weekend warrior style.

So ask away and I'll try to he helpful. What do we think about bass players? Pizza delivery? Speeding up while knocking on front doors? What it's like getting fired all the time?

2. Oddly

Oddly

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Nice idea.
    I'll start with this...
    Any preference for which side of you your bassplayers puts themselves?
    And why?

3. Shalto

Shalto

Aug 23, 2019
    Australia
    Whichever side helps us to see each other is best. Most right handed drummers will typically have a better line of sight out on their right side, as we typically have less cymbals and the ride cymbal (which is usually lowered below eye level) over there. I suspect the bassist has a better chance of seeing my kick foot from that side too as the high hat mechanism is less in the way.

4. Hello.
    How do you get the singer help you load and unload your gear?

5. Shalto

Shalto

Aug 23, 2019
    Australia
    Haha, currently they offer the help because they are a polite person. In my experience lots of folk want show off their muscles so it's usually not too hard getting help moving gear.

GregC, Ross W. Lovell and WallaceSnr like this.
  6. Oddly

Oddly

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Do you practice throwing sticks at irritating singers and guitarists?:D

bassb66, bobyoung53, The Owl and 5 others like this.
  7. Shalto

Shalto

Aug 23, 2019