Auditions coming up....Pizz. Pieces???

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Enigma2775, Dec 10, 2005.

1. Enigma2775

Dec 9, 2005
    Hey guys,
    I've got college auditions coming up at University of Louisville as well as a couple other places. I'm a converted Electric bassist and the bow is killing me. Does anyone have any suggestions on a good pizz. piece that isn't that complicated to learn? Any help you could give would be awesome.
  2. dragonetti11

Jun 20, 2002
    well, if you are auditioning for a classical school the faculty will want to hear arco. but there is a pizzicato piece by rabbath that is published in his solo book. i suggest you work on your arco....unless you play only jazz and want to audition as a jazz player
  3. Comrade Lewis

Comrade Lewis Guest

Jun 20, 2004
    Athens, Ga
    Ditto on the Rabbath. The piece is called ode d'espagna i think and its really fun a cool, check it out.
  4. theodore

Dec 14, 2004
    tchaik IV, 3rd movement?
  5. Machina

Aug 1, 2005
    Correct, Tchaikovsky's 4th Symphony, 3rd movement is entirely pizz, but I don't know how impressive the bass part is.
  6. B. Johnson

B. Johnson

Apr 28, 2005
    THere is also the "Playful Pizzicato" from Benjamin Britten's Simple Symphony that is all pizz. I just recomend sticking it out with the bow and do what you can.
  7. That is guite a fun movement. It would most definitley be a good idea to stick an arco piece in there. I just had my first string jury, and killed my hand on a not so worthy piece. It didn't play to my strengths.....

Here is a good piece though. It is "Largo" for Bass and Piano by Vladimir Bakaleinikoff. It is very easy if you are comfortable with a slow steady vibrato, and some higher positions. Really a good piece all around. There is also "Caballero" by John Merle. That's it for me. One new college guy to another. Good Luck!!
  8. Justin K-ski

Justin K-ski

May 13, 2005