Auto-wah for active basses? Mooer?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassdood, Dec 27, 2020.

1. bassdood

bassdood

Jun 15, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    Greetings!

I am relatively new to pedals. Am experimenting some, and slowly accumulating several to go on a future pedal board.

I just got a new Mooer Envelope Filter auto wah. It is billed as being both for guitar and bass. It got very high ratings, but most of those were from guitar players.

I have tried it on three different active basses, and can hardly get any wah out of it. The only wah I seem to get is if I play some relatively high notes. If I play the exact same groove in a lower (middle) octave, without touching the settings, the wah disappears. I have tried just about every combination of settings possible.

Is this possibly an issue with my basses being active? Or did I just make a poor choice for an autowah? Or could this one be defective?

I have searched threads here, and most of them seem to be about wahs with expression pedals.

What auto-wah would you recommend for active basses? I Would rather get something reasonably economical. Thanks!

2. Teryup

Teryup

Oct 16, 2019
    Someone with more experience than me will need to help with the issue with the pedal, but I do have some advice for finding more information. Most threads in here discussing auto-wah type pedals refer to them as envelope filters. If you try searching for information that way you are more likely to find some threads you are looking for. The two terms are essentially interchangeable.

westrock and bassdood like this.
  3. Vinny_G

Vinny_G

Dec 1, 2011
    Neustria
    The Mooer Envelope seems to work well with active basses.

bassdood likes this.
  4. bassdood

bassdood

Jun 15, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    thanks!

5. bassdood

bassdood

Jun 15, 2009
    Wilmington, NC