bach cello suites?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by peglegmeg, Mar 6, 2006.

1. peglegmeg

Mar 6, 2006
    Hey, I'm new here. I've been playing DB for about 3/4 year, and I started the suite 2 prelude just for fun a couple of days ago. Er, some bg: I've been playing cello for the last 7 years or so (but I find the DB so. much. cooler. like, infinitely more interesting), so I guess I'm pretty familiar with the bach suites already.

I've read here that people view them as marginally difficult, though technically speaking, they seem manageable to me (besides the chords). Since I'm a beginner, I wonder if I'm just playing the piece wrong i.e. should it be an octave higher, different technique, etc? Maybe it's just that the one I chose was "easier"? God, I really need a teacher.

Anyway, I appreciate any opinions/advice. Thanks!
  2. If you've been playing cello for a long time, then you've already got a grasp on how the suites should sound. That's a good thing. As far as pitch goes, it depends on which arrangement of the suites you are reading when you play them on bass. If you're reading from the cello version you probably used in the past, then you're going to need to take them up an octave when you read them for bass. In other words, play them at the same pitch and octave as on cello. This means that while much of the suites rest in the first position on cello (as far as I know anyway), the majority of the notes on bass will be played in thumb position. The 1st, 2nd, and 5th suites are supposed to be played at pitch, while the 3rd suite is generally played down a fourth (in G instead of C). I'm not quite sure about the rest, to be honest.