1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bach on bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by lola99, Apr 8, 2006.

1. lola99

lola99

Jan 28, 2006
    I love classical music, grew up playing classics on the piano, and I was wondering if anyone can recommend a JS Bach book transcribed for beginner/intermediate bass players. I've googled and there are a few things out there; any suggestions as to which ones may be appropriate? :help:

I've been learning on my own since Dec 2005, and I know that's a major no-no, but finances are finances :rolleyes:

2. airrick

airrick

Dec 4, 2005
    get all bach/classical pieces from cello parts, its in bass clef, and thats all you need.

3. v-12

v-12

Mar 3, 2005
    FL Panhandle
  4. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    I have the Josquin Depres book. While I appreciate the author's tabbing out the songs, some of his fingering choices (especially the avoidance of open strings) is, to me anyway, a little strange.

5. lola99

lola99

Jan 28, 2006
    Thank you very much for the advice! I was wondering about the cello sonatas, and I have seen the Josquin Despres book. I can read music, but the tab comes in very handy as I'm still not entirely familiar with the neck and all the fingering possibilities there :meh: I'll get Despres and do an online search for free cello sonatas. I can't wait :hyper:

6. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    Why the heck would that be a no-no? Some kind of classical music tradition?

Some of the most accomplished musicians ever are largely self-taught. It has its limitations - but also its liberations...

MM

7. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY