1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

bass amp as a subwoofer?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by JMKunkle, Jun 29, 2012.

1. JMKunkle

JMKunkle

Jun 29, 2012
    I am new at this. Want to know if I can connect a 100 watt bass amp to a pa system as a subwoofer for a church setting. can the bass amp still be used as a bass guitar amp as well? I have a 16 channel Peavy 2002 mixer.

2. Barisaxman

Barisaxman Gold Supporting Member

Aug 17, 2005
    Omaha, NE
    How do yo plan on connecting it? Short answer is I wouldn't recommend using a bass amp for something it wasn't intended for. It could be ok, but it's really not going to sound anywhere close to even a cheap sub used correctly.

If you don't have the tools available, keep it simple. Use the bass amp as a bass amp. Put only what's necessary in the PA (e.g. vocals, keys, etc), and use your stage volume to balance the group. It will be way more effective (and make you a better musician) than hacking together a rig with a bass amp/quasi sub and hoping for the best.

3. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2002
    Columbia River Gorge
    This is basically going to suck... 100 watts is a small bass amp .. it's a miniscule subwoofer... I'm guessing it's a combo. Probably doesn't go below 80 to 100 hz anyway ...

If you insist, you would play through the board, and send the low side of the PA's crossover to the amp. No crossover ? Then it is even less likely to add to the sound quality.

4. uhdinator

uhdinator

Apr 20, 2010
    Maine
    unless it has a line level return on the back, you don't want to run line level from a mixer or cross over into an instrument input that is for a much lower level. Bottom line it will suck yes.

5. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2002
    Columbia River Gorge